THE CARTER-HOLLAND HOUSE 1875
35 Welland St. S. - GPS N43 07.276 - W079 17.796
This impressive house was built In the Gothic Revival and Italianate style in 1875 by Henry Carter, who had important connections to the Town of Thorold. This house dictated the setback of the remaining houses on Welland Street and the exquisite untouched detailing makes it one of the gems of our community.
Dr. Henry Rolls conveyed Lot 11 to Henry Carter: A mason. He was a member of the second Thorold Band organized in the late 1850's and later the Orange Young Britons Band, which became known as the Thorold Reed Band - still in existence and one of the oldest bands in the Niagara Region. He was also a firefighter and was one of the first 8 Councilors to be elected in the new Town of Thorold in 1875.
In 1939 the property was bought by Gertrude Mae Holland and remained in the Holland family for the next 60 years.
In Ontario we had exuberant folk art which blossomed all over the gables, eaves and porches of most of the vernacular houses of Canada best between 1840-70. * This picturesque brick house with a steep pitched roof, located on a corner, has beautifully understated barge boards which are a perfect complement to the Gothic/Italianate style. These boards are comprised of simple rounded fretwork in a doubled pattern, separated by squared' drop finial posts. A Cathedral Window is located on the south side of the house, 2nd floor; the windows on the brick portion of the house have limestone slipsills and the first floor front windows have strong Italian influences incorporated into the cut limestone lintels. The beautifully-designed arched windows are significant, as well as the shutters. The foundation stones are of limestone rubble, separated by a decorative limestone stretcher, lining the entire front of the building, thus separating the foundation stones from the brick masonry work of the walls.
The frame addition (later 19th century) was built with sympathetic styling to the main house.
This is a very fine example of height of the Gothic movement in architecture and one of the only houses in the immediate area to have so many embellishments associated with that style.
For description and images of other designated properties, please click links below.
|Allanburg Heritage Oak Tree||Dominion Government Building||Moore-Lampman House|
|Allanburg United Church||East Side School Bell||Munro House|
|Allanburg Village Cemetery||Fire Bell||O'Brien House|
|Beaverdams Burying Grounds||First Presbyterian Church||Old Firehall|
|Beaverdams Methodist Church & Graveyard||Flannery House||Port Robinson Brick School|
|Calcott-Walker House||George Bouk House||Quebec Bank|
|Camp House||Grenville House||Robert Elliot House|
|Carl, Misener, Bald Cemetery||Griffiths House||Ross House|
|Carnegie Library||Kennedy-Ward House||St. Andrews Presbyterian Church|
|Carr-Millar-McMillan Block||L.G. Lorriman/Central School||Sir Edward Beatty House|
|Carter-Holland House||Lynch House||The Stone Store|
|Chestnut Hall||Macartney Drug Store||Tracy House|
|Constable House||Maplehurst||Trinity United Church|
|Decew Young House||Memorial Park||War Memorial|
|Decou House Monument||Millar House||Welland Canal 2nd River Lock|
|Dobbie House||Millstone - Welland Mills||Welland Mills|